Choosing a child booster suit to comply with Washington law
Washington state has a child restraint law requiring children under the age of eight to be in a child booster seat if the child less less than four feet nine inches tall. In addition, the law requires children under the age of 13 to ride in the rear seat whenever it is practical. Drivers who fail to adhere to the booster seat law are subject to a $112 fine per child.
Children between the ages of 4 and 8 are four times less likely to be injured in a car accident than a child who wore only a seat belt alone. In fact, young children can be injured by a seat belt including internal organ injury and spinal injury.
Selecting a Booster Seat
The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) provides a web-site, Booster Seat Evaluations for 2012, which can help a parent choose a booster seat for their child. Fit of a booster seat is really important. It should fit both the car and the child.
The IIHS web-site rates many model of booster seats. Manufacturers can change the name of a booster seat so be sure to check the Model #. The BEST BET rated seats fit most 4 to 8 year old children and fits in almost any car, SUV or minivan.
This information is provided by Washington Injury Attorney blog, a service of The Farber Law Group. We represent people who have been seriously injured in automobile accidents and the family of those killed. With our help, you may recover compensation for your damages.